Community Leadership Program Class of 2018 

Participants | Class Projects


    Dave Adams, RSM US LLP

    Jaclyn Albrecht Overton, Shift Interactive

    Megan Bannister, Des Moines Art Center

    Collin Barnes, RDG Planning & Design

    Brady Barthole, Speck USA

    Josh Braby, Neumann Brothers, Inc.

    Dwana Bradley, The Des Moines Urban Experience/Iowa Juneteenth Observance

    Heather Brady, Grand View University

    Billi Brahn, Iowa State Bank

    Tim Bratvold, Estes Construction

    Breann Bye, 6th Avenue Corridor Urban Main Street Program

    Jen Carruthers, Americana

    Ana Coppola, Polk County Health Department

    Angie Currie, Commerce Bank

    Rick Eftink, Grand View University

    Scott Gillespie, Iowa Select Farms

    Kale Halder, Principal Financial Group

    Maggie Hanson, Davis Brown Law Firm

    Rajee Harris, Principal Financial Group

    Cheryl Heid, City of Grimes

    Matt Hillis, Ryan Companies US, Inc.

    Carla Huebner, VA Central Iowa Health Care System

    Bo James, Hip-Hope Inc.

    Debbie Korver, Farm Bureau Financial Services

    Kayla Kovarna, American Heart Association

    Erin Lain, Drake University

    Joe Lee, RSM US LLP

    Frank Lee III, Des Moines Public School

    Jill Lippincott, State of Iowa - Iowa Economic Development Authority

    Mark Liston, FBL Financial Group/Liston Farms

    Anupam Mittra, Cynosure Inc

    Jim Nelson, FBL Financial Group, Inc.

    Jill Niswander, EMBARC

    Kyle Oppenhuizen, Greater Des Moines Partnership

    Lynh Patterson, Delta Dental of Iowa

    Michelle Raymer, Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service (Volunteer Iowa)

    Nina Richtman, DuPont Pioneer

    Brett Roberts, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

    Shannon Sanders, Sharecare

    Adam Schwab, American Enterprise Group

    Manish Shah, Wells Fargo

    Evan Shaw, INVISION Architecture

    Matthew Steen, On With Life

    Katie Stevenson, Des Moines University

    Amy Strutt, Wells Fargo

    Conner Wasson, Ahlers & Cooney, P.C.

    Carrie Woerdeman, T&L Properties, LLC

    AJ Wolfe, Terracon Consultants, Inc.

    Jaclyn Wulfekuhle, United Way of Central Iowa

    Courtney Yuskis, Meredith Corporation

      Class Projects

      The primary objective of the class projects is to provide class members with opportunities to develop meaningful leadership skills in real-world settings, while benefiting local non-profit organizations and ultimately preparing class members to effectively lead change in Greater Des Moines.

      Participants in the 2018 Community Leadership Program have partnered with the following five local non-profit organizations:

      • Blank Park Zoo – Exhibit accessibility and zoo experience by people with disabilities.
      • DART and U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants – Transportation use and access for immigrants and other underserved groups.
      • Food Bank of Iowa – Hunger in youth during the summer months.
      • Genesis – Positive programming for underserved youth and immigrant families.
      • Please Pass the Love – Programming and services for youth affected by mental health conditions.



      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software